Screenshot_2014-01-25-11-26-55Now that we’ve had the phone for several weeks, we’re in a better position to judge it. After several weeks, we’re still able to say it’s an awesome China phone.

iNew V3 Size

That’s not to say it doesn’t have it’s quarks. iNew was less than honest about the thickness of the phone. They called it a 6.5mm phone, which really isn’t the truth. It’s only 6.5mm at the very edge. For us, the true thickness of about 8mm isn’t an issue. I wouldn’t want the phone any thinner. The problem is the dishonesty about the thickness. It’s a step I don’t believe iNew should have made. It’s a very tight market right now with many great options, so perhaps there was a lot of pressure to set themselves above the pack with this 6.5mm nonsense, but we don’t excuse iNew for this and it’s a blemish that will remain for quite awhile.

iNew V3 Looks

We’re still loving it’s slick looks and design. Owning the phone for several weeks hasn’t diminished the wow factor of the phone. iNew really pulled together something special here with the iNew V3, and as we’ve seen it’s blown up in popularity due to adding just a few cool elements – the cool ‘alien eye’ for a home key, the square design with top and bottom rounding and the brushed aluminum sides.

iNew V3 Battery Issues

The biggest issue we’ve had with iNew v3, is the battery not fulling charging while the phone is on. The charging rate drops drastically at around 80%. If leaving it long enough on the charger, it will eventually ‘jump’ to 100%. This is a pity being that the phone has a small battery to begin with. I use external chargers and battery swap, so this isn’t a big problem for me, but for those who often charge their phone normally by plugging the phone in, it could be a frustration.Screenshot_2014-01-19-13-26-55

iNew V3 ROM / Firmware support

Firmware support has been very good. With several new versions released in just a month’s time. There is one caveat here, the newest version 1.0.4 pulls all of the phone space into one partition of phone storage. With previous versions of iNew v3 ROMs we were able to easily edit the EBR to change partitions. With the newest version of iNew v3 upgrade firmware, changing the partition sizes is proving to be a challenge. Still, this is a minor quibble in regards to the iNew v3 firmware support. This is an extreme rarity with China brands to have new firmwares released nearly every week since it’s release. Hats off to iNew for this.

iNew V3 OTG

Initially the OTG on the iNew v3 didn’t work on some models. It was leaked by a China shop that the first 1000 units didn’t have the OTG hardware. However, this turned out to be false. The issue was actually related to some of the units not having the proper firmware. A quick iNew v3 ROM update fixed the issue. OTG is now flawless and should work out of the box for any new iNew v3’s ordered.

iNew V3 Camera

A few people are complaining about iNew’s camera. Saying that iNew lied about it being Sony and the quality of the night photos are terrible. However there are far more people saying they are impressed by the photos from the iNew v3. The night photos are fairly noisy, but this is to be expected when shooting at ISO 1600 with such a tiny sensor. In my opinion, the photos are above average for a China phone and I couldn’t expect more. Really it’s only several disgruntled customers who thought perhaps they’d be getting standalone camera quality pictures out of a sensor the size of a BB.IMG_20140122_135153

iNew V3 GPS

The iNew V3 GPS has been excellent. Simply outstanding job iNew has done with the GPS. Hard cold locks normally within a minute at most. Warm locks happen within seconds. The SNR are quite strong as well, connecting with most satellites in the 30+ range.

iNew V3 Conclusion

In conclusion, the phone is great. The iNew v3 is an amazing phone – features, spec and looks wise given the price. Just a couple of blemishes keep it from being perfect, mainly the iNew V3 charging issue and the short battery life of about 3-4 hours onscreen. If you think 3-4 hours onscreen isn’t going to get you through the day, we recommend a 2nd battery which should give at least 6 hours of onscreen use.

If you haven’t already seen them, there are several other parts to this review:

iNew v3 Review part 1

iNew v3 Review part 2

iNew v3 Review part 3

iNew v3 Review part 4

iNew V3 Review MT6582 – Final Thoughts!http://www.gizbeat.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/01/Screenshot_2014-01-25-11-26-55-450x818.pnghttp://www.gizbeat.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/01/Screenshot_2014-01-25-11-26-55-150x150.png Damian Parsons iNewMTK6582Reviews
Now that we've had the phone for several weeks, we're in a better position to judge it. After several weeks, we're still able to say it's an awesome China phone. iNew V3 Size That's not to say it doesn't have it's quarks. iNew was less than honest about the thickness of...
<img class="size-thumbnail wp-image-3042 alignleft" alt="Screenshot_2014-01-25-11-26-55" src="http://www.gizbeat.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/01/Screenshot_2014-01-25-11-26-55-84x150.png" width="84" height="150" />Now that we've had the phone for several weeks, we're in a better position to judge it. After several weeks, we're still able to say it's an awesome China phone.<span id="more-3041"></span> <h3><span style="text-decoration: underline;">iNew V3 Size</span></h3> That's not to say it doesn't have it's quarks. iNew was less than honest about the thickness of the phone. They called it a 6.5mm phone, which really isn't the truth. It's only 6.5mm at the very edge. For us, the true thickness of about 8mm isn't an issue. I wouldn't want the phone any thinner. The problem is the dishonesty about the thickness. It's a step I don't believe iNew should have made. It's a very tight market right now with many great options, so perhaps there was a lot of pressure to set themselves above the pack with this 6.5mm nonsense, but we don't excuse iNew for this and it's a blemish that will remain for quite awhile. <h3><span style="text-decoration: underline;">iNew V3 Looks</span></h3> We're still loving it's slick looks and design. Owning the phone for several weeks hasn't diminished the wow factor of the phone. iNew really pulled together something special here with the iNew V3, and as we've seen it's blown up in popularity due to adding just a few cool elements - the cool 'alien eye' for a home key, the square design with top and bottom rounding and the brushed aluminum sides. <h3><span style="text-decoration: underline;">iNew V3 Battery Issues</span></h3> The biggest issue we've had with iNew v3, is <a href="http://www.chinaphonearena.com/forum/Forum-iNew-V3" target="_blank">the battery not fulling charging while the phone is on.</a> The charging rate drops drastically at around 80%. If leaving it long enough on the charger, it will eventually 'jump' to 100%. This is a pity being that the phone has a small battery to begin with. I use external chargers and battery swap, so this isn't a big problem for me, but for those who often charge their phone normally by plugging the phone in, it could be a frustration.<img class="aligncenter" alt="Screenshot_2014-01-19-13-26-55" src="http://www.gizbeat.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/01/Screenshot_2014-01-19-13-26-55-179x350.png" width="179" height="350" /> <h3><span style="text-decoration: underline;">iNew V3 ROM / Firmware support</span></h3> Firmware support has been very good. <a href="http://www.chinaphonearena.com/forum/Forum-iNew-V3" target="_blank">With several new versions released in just a month's time.</a> There is one caveat here, the newest version 1.0.4 pulls all of the phone space into one partition of phone storage. With previous versions of iNew v3 ROMs we were able to easily edit the EBR to change partitions. With the newest version of iNew v3 upgrade firmware, changing the partition sizes is proving to be a challenge. Still, this is a minor quibble in regards to the iNew v3 firmware support. This is an extreme rarity with China brands to have new firmwares released nearly every week since it's release. Hats off to iNew for this. <h3><span style="text-decoration: underline;">iNew V3 OTG</span></h3> Initially the OTG on the iNew v3 didn't work on some models. It was leaked by a China shop that the first 1000 units didn't have the OTG hardware. However, this turned out to be false. The issue was actually related to some of the units not having the proper firmware. A quick iNew v3 ROM update fixed the issue. OTG is now flawless and should work out of the box for any new iNew v3's ordered. <h3><span style="text-decoration: underline;">iNew V3 Camera</span></h3> <a href="http://www.chinaphonearena.com/forum/Forum-iNew-V3" target="_blank">A few people are complaining about iNew's camera</a>. Saying that iNew lied about it being Sony and the quality of the night photos are terrible. However there are far more people saying they are impressed by the photos from the iNew v3. The night photos are fairly noisy, but this is to be expected when shooting at ISO 1600 with such a tiny sensor. In my opinion, the photos are above average for a China phone and I couldn't expect more. Really it's only several disgruntled customers who thought perhaps they'd be getting standalone camera quality pictures out of a sensor the size of a BB.<img class="aligncenter size-medium wp-image-3047" alt="IMG_20140122_135153" src="http://www.gizbeat.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/01/IMG_20140122_135153-350x292.jpg" width="350" height="292" /> <h3><span style="text-decoration: underline;">iNew V3 GPS</span></h3> The iNew V3 GPS has been excellent. Simply outstanding job iNew has done with the GPS. Hard cold locks normally within a minute at most. Warm locks happen within seconds. The SNR are quite strong as well, connecting with most satellites in the 30+ range. <h3><span style="text-decoration: underline;">iNew V3 Conclusion</span></h3> In conclusion, the phone is great. The iNew v3 is an amazing phone - features, spec and looks wise given the price. Just a couple of blemishes keep it from being perfect, mainly the iNew V3 charging issue and the short battery life of about 3-4 hours onscreen. If you think 3-4 hours onscreen isn't going to get you through the day, we recommend a 2nd battery which should give at least 6 hours of onscreen use. If you haven't already seen them, there are several other parts to this review: <a title="MT6582 iNew V3 Review – (Part 1 – Unboxing)" href="http://www.gizbeat.com/2858/mt6582-inew-v3-review-part-1-unboxing/">iNew v3 Review part 1</a> <a title="MT6582 iNew V3 Review (Part 2 – Day Photos / Pictures)" href="http://www.gizbeat.com/2863/mt6582-inew-v3-review-part-2-day-photos-pictures/">iNew v3 Review part 2</a> <a title="MT6582 iNew V3 Review (LED, External Speaker, Microphone, Earpiece)" href="http://www.gizbeat.com/2885/mt6582-inew-v3-review-led-external-speaker-microphone-earpiece/">iNew v3 Review part 3</a> <a title="Fix OTG iNew V3!" href="http://www.gizbeat.com/2935/fix-otg-inew-v3/">iNew v3 Review part 4</a>