Recently we had the displeasure of experiencing ge.tt’s deplorable service. This is one file sharing cloud to stay well away from if you value your uploads.

Incredibly, not only can other users not access your uploads, even you can not access them

Virus TOS

On the forum, we recently had users complaining that download links were no longer working. When checking the links ourselves, we found our account had been taken down for violating KEEPIT’S TOS.

The notice on ge.tt’s website when trying to access said file left a message to contact ge.tt in order to have the account reopened.

It’s important to note that ge.tt:

  • Did not provide any warning that there was any issue
  • Did not notify us via email regarding the take down of our account

Upon contacting ge.tt, we were informed that a file we had uploaded had a virus in it. The file in question was MotoChopper root.

ge-tt-review-ge-tt-review

Most users know that root software will often trigger virus programs, regardless of whether it’s a true virus or not. This point is neither here nor there, but bears mentioning.

All files in the account are blocked

Not just the one file in question is blocked, but all files in the account.

Only one chance

Interestingly, ge.tt provides only one chance for this issue. In the email we received from ge.tt we were informed that they would only reactivate our account 1 time.

ge-tt-review-2016-11-07-12_14_47-photos

Not even you can access them

That’s right. Incredibly, not only can other users not access your uploads, even you can not access them while the account has been suspended.

This means your files are gone forever if you somehow inadvertently violate ge.tt TOS more than once.

The file in question

MotoChopper root, the file accused of containing a virus had been up on ge.tt’s servers for more than 2 years. This points to terribly shoddy virus detection by ge.tt.

Indeed, in their TOS, they claim they don’t check files at all for viruses. This portion of the TOS reads “KEEPIT neither does nor can pre-screen or monitor Content.”.

Link problems

In addition to the above mentioned issue, ge.tt’s linking system is sad, with links often not properly directing to a download when clicking from mobile.

ge.tt has had serious downtime issues

There are periods when ge.tt is down for many hours on end, sometimes even days, making the files inaccessible to yourself and the users as well.

ge-tt-review-2016-11-07-13_16_52-jump-list-for-google-chrome

A better way

Our suggestion to ge.tt was that they should perhaps change their practices; that instead of shutting down an entire account, they simply shut down the possible offending file. This is how MediaFire does it.

In addition, they should notify the account owner regarding the issue and give the owner time to remove the file in question.

Our suggestions fell on deaf ears.

Conclusion

ge.tt is a service to stay far far away from.

In a world full of choices, with ge.tt’s paltry 2GB of free storage, inexcusable shutting down of accounts without warning or notification, constant server problems, and link forwarding issues in mobile, ge.tt is a service to stay far far away from.

2016-11-07-13_09_56-photos

Are we saying it’s okay to upload viruses? No; but there are often cases where a user may not even know. It could be a virus not yet entered into databases, so impossible to detect, or you may simply not be aware the file you’re uploading contains a possible virus.

Whatever the case, there are far better ways to deal with the issue, as we see by MediaFire’s example of simply blocking the single offending file from file sharing.

A better choice

Check out MediaFire.com (no, we’re not an affiliate or reseller for MediaFire.com). They provide an excellent 10GB free storage, excellent server up times, and appropriate link forwarding when in mobile.

ge-tt-review-2016-11-07-13_21_48-start

Above all, as opposed to ge.tt, MediaFire doesn’t shut down your account when a single possible offending file has been found. They simply shut down the ability to download said file by other users other than yourself.

Which do you use?

Have you had an experience with ge.tt that you’d like to share? Or would like to let us know which file sharer you use? Please comment below.

Ge.tt review. MediaFire is by far the better all around option.http://www.gizbeat.com/wp-content/uploads/70L5UYL0FO-450x300.jpghttp://www.gizbeat.com/wp-content/uploads/70L5UYL0FO-150x150.jpg Damian Parsons OpinionTech
Recently we had the displeasure of experiencing ge.tt's deplorable service. This is one file sharing cloud to stay well away from if you value your uploads. Incredibly, not only can other users not access your uploads, even you can not access them Virus TOS On the forum, we recently had users complaining...
Recently we had the displeasure of experiencing ge.tt's deplorable service. This is one file sharing cloud to stay well away from if you value your uploads.<span id="more-11100"></span> <blockquote>Incredibly, not only can other users not access your uploads, even you can not access them</blockquote> <h3>Virus TOS</h3> On the forum, we recently had users complaining that download links were no longer working. When checking the links ourselves, we found our account had been taken down for violating KEEPIT'S TOS. The notice on ge.tt's website when trying to access said file left a message to contact ge.tt in order to have the account reopened. <strong>It's important to note that ge.tt:</strong> <ul> <li>Did not provide any warning that there was any issue</li> <li>Did not notify us via email regarding the take down of our account</li> </ul> Upon contacting ge.tt, we were informed that a file we had uploaded had a virus in it. The file in question was MotoChopper root. <a href="http://www.gizbeat.com/wp-content/uploads/ge.tt-review-ge.tt-review.jpg"><img class="aligncenter size-full wp-image-11111" src="http://www.gizbeat.com/wp-content/uploads/ge.tt-review-ge.tt-review.jpg" alt="ge-tt-review-ge-tt-review" width="700" height="207" /></a> Most users know that root software will often trigger virus programs, regardless of whether it's a true virus or not. This point is neither here nor there, but bears mentioning. <h3>All files in the account are blocked</h3> Not just the one file in question is blocked, but all files in the account. <h3>Only one chance</h3> Interestingly, ge.tt provides only one chance for this issue. In the email we received from ge.tt we were informed that they would only reactivate our account 1 time. <a href="http://www.gizbeat.com/wp-content/uploads/ge.tt-review-2016-11-07-12_14_47-Photos.jpg"><img class="aligncenter size-full wp-image-11103" src="http://www.gizbeat.com/wp-content/uploads/ge.tt-review-2016-11-07-12_14_47-Photos.jpg" alt="ge-tt-review-2016-11-07-12_14_47-photos" width="700" height="256" /></a> <h3>Not even you can access them</h3> That's right. Incredibly, not only can other users not access your uploads, even you can not access them while the account has been suspended. This means your files are gone forever if you somehow inadvertently violate ge.tt TOS more than once. <h3>The file in question</h3> MotoChopper root, the file accused of containing a virus had been up on ge.tt's servers for more than 2 years. This points to terribly shoddy virus detection by ge.tt. Indeed, in their TOS, they claim they don't check files at all for viruses. This portion of the TOS reads "KEEPIT neither does nor can pre-screen or monitor Content.". <h3>Link problems</h3> In addition to the above mentioned issue, ge.tt's linking system is sad, with links often not properly directing to a download when clicking from mobile. <h3>ge.tt has had serious downtime issues</h3> There are periods when ge.tt is down for many hours on end, sometimes even days, making the files inaccessible to yourself and the users as well. <a href="http://www.gizbeat.com/wp-content/uploads/ge.tt-review-2016-11-07-13_16_52-Jump-List-for-Google-Chrome.jpg"><img class="aligncenter size-full wp-image-11107" src="http://www.gizbeat.com/wp-content/uploads/ge.tt-review-2016-11-07-13_16_52-Jump-List-for-Google-Chrome.jpg" alt="ge-tt-review-2016-11-07-13_16_52-jump-list-for-google-chrome" width="525" height="465" /></a> <h3>A better way</h3> Our suggestion to ge.tt was that they should perhaps change their practices; that instead of shutting down an entire account, they simply shut down the possible offending file.<strong> This is how MediaFire does it.</strong> In addition, they should notify the account owner regarding the issue and give the owner time to remove the file in question. Our suggestions fell on deaf ears. <h3>Conclusion</h3> <blockquote>ge.tt is a service to stay far far away from.</blockquote> In a world full of choices, with ge.tt's paltry 2GB of free storage, inexcusable shutting down of accounts without warning or notification, constant server problems, and link forwarding issues in mobile, ge.tt is a service to stay far far away from. <img class="aligncenter size-full wp-image-11106" src="http://www.gizbeat.com/wp-content/uploads/2016-11-07-13_09_56-Photos.jpg" alt="2016-11-07-13_09_56-photos" width="232" height="155" /> Are we saying it's okay to upload viruses? No; but there are often cases where a user may not even know. It could be a virus not yet entered into databases, so impossible to detect, or you may simply not be aware the file you're uploading contains a possible virus. Whatever the case, there are far better ways to deal with the issue, as we see by MediaFire's example of simply blocking the single offending file from file sharing. <h3>A better choice</h3> Check out MediaFire.com (no, we're not an affiliate or reseller for MediaFire.com). They provide an excellent 10GB free storage, excellent server up times, and appropriate link forwarding when in mobile. <a href="http://www.gizbeat.com/wp-content/uploads/ge.tt-review-2016-11-07-13_21_48-Start.jpg"><img class="aligncenter size-full wp-image-11108" src="http://www.gizbeat.com/wp-content/uploads/ge.tt-review-2016-11-07-13_21_48-Start.jpg" alt="ge-tt-review-2016-11-07-13_21_48-start" width="329" height="413" /></a> Above all, as opposed to ge.tt, MediaFire doesn't shut down your account when a single possible offending file has been found. They simply shut down the ability to download said file by other users other than yourself. <h3>Which do you use?</h3> Have you had an experience with ge.tt that you'd like to share? Or would like to let us know which file sharer you use? Please comment below.